WiFi Deployment for Hack Oldham 2

Hi. I’m a new member who’s a huge Linux/*BSD, infosec and networking geek. I overheard you guys talking about what would be the best WiFi deployment solution for the new space. I’m definitely not an expert in this area, but I have some experience gained through casual interest, i.e. trying to understand how the WiFi network at my university worked, messing around with OpenWRT routers at home, playing with the Linux wireless stack, etc.

Wireless Repeaters vs Bridges

aka “Can we get away with multiple routers using the same ESSID and key”

Before I can answer the above question, I must first explain the difference between an Access Point, a Wireless Repeater and a Wireless Bridge. A Wireless Repeater does exactly what it says on the tin. It amplifies an existing wireless signal by re-transmitting packets to and from an existing Access Point. This is great when you’re simply looking to extend the range of an existing wireless network, i.e. when you have an area in your house where the signal from your router doesn’t reach. Since wireless repeaters simply rebroadcast an existing signal (meaning that all repeaters must operate on the same wireless frequency and channel), they improve the range, but do nothing to increase the number of concurrent users connected to your wireless network. There are also obvious latency and reliability issues associated with using multiple repeaters.